Prime Minister the Hon Scott Morrison MP has announced a new Liberal National Coalition team.

More women have been appointed to Cabinet and the portfolios of Small Business and Industrial Relations have been returned to Cabinet level.

The foundation of the team is a stronger economy.  The economic team is spearheaded by Treasurer the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP.

The following members have been appointed by the Governor General to the executive.

Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann resumes the role of Minister for Finance and the Public Service and has been re-appointed Leader of the Government in the Senate.

The Hon Christopher Pyne MP is appointed Minister for Defence. Mr Pyne continues on as Leader of the House. Queensland MP the Hon Steven Ciobo MP is appointed as the new Minister for Defence Industry, building the capability of our defence forces and rolling out the defence industry plan.

Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham is appointed the new Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment.  Senator Birmingham also takes on the role of Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate. The Hon Dan Tehan MP is appointed Minister for Education.

The Hon Paul Fletcher MP serves as the new Minister for Families and Social Services.

The Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP becomes the new Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations and continues to serve as Minister for Women.

Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash takes on the cabinet level position of Minister for Small and Family Business, Skills and Vocational Education.

In addition to retaining his existing position as Minister for Communications and the Arts, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield has been appointed a member of the Expenditure Review Committee. Senator Fifield also takes on the role of Manager of Government Business in the Senate.

Three new faces have been added to the Cabinet. The Hon Melissa Price MP serves as Minister for the Environment, the Hon Karen Andrews MP is appointed as Minister for Industry, Science and Technology and the Hon Angus Taylor MP has joined Cabinet as Minister for Energy. Mr Taylor’s primary focus is to continue to get electricity prices down for Australian households and businesses.

The Hon Peter Dutton MP remains in the key role of Minister for Home Affairs.

Deputy Prime Minister the Hon Michael McCormack MP takes on Regional Development among his existing portfolio responsibilities, while Deputy Leader of the Nationals, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie adds the roles of Minister for Regional Services, Local Government and Decentralisation to her current responsibility as Minister for Sport.

Senator the Hon Marise Payne takes on the Hon Julie Bishop MP’s previous role as the new Minister for Foreign Affairs.

The Hon Michael Keenan MP continues in the Ministry in his current role of Minister for Human Services with the additional responsibility of Minister for Digital Transformation.

The Hon David Coleman MP takes on the position of Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs.

The Hon Stuart Robert MP has been appointed as Assistant Treasurer.

The Hon Alan Tudge MP is appointed Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population.

The Hon Alex Hawke MP takes on the role of Special Minister of State.

Senator the Hon Anne Ruston moves to the position of Assistant Minister for International Development and the Pacific.

Tasmanian Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck takes on the position of Assistant Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources.

Senator the Hon Zed Seselja is appointed Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance.

The Hon Sussan Ley MP has taken on the role of Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories.

Senator David Fawcett takes on the role of Assistant Minister for Defence, Steve Irons MP is appointed Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister, Andrew Broad MP takes on the responsibility of Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister, and Senator Linda Reynolds CSC is appointed the Assistant Minister for Home Affairs. Regional MP Scott Buchholz has taken on the position of Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport. Sarah Henderson MP is appointed as Assistant Minister for Social Services, Housing and Disability Services and Michelle Landry MP has been appointed as the Assistant Minister for Children and Families.

The Hon Barnaby Joyce MP is appointed as Special Envoy for Drought Assistance and Recovery. Mr Joyce will be on the ground ensuring that farmers and communities in drought affected regions are heard across government.

Prime Minister Morrison thanks those who served in the previous Coalition ministry for their contributions.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrove with the new ministry. Picture: Lukas Coch/AAP


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *