The Eyre Peninsula covers 235,000km² (23% of the State) and is a land of rugged coastlines, expansive crops, plentiful seafood, sandy beaches, national parks, rich mineral deposits of magnetite, graphite, kaolin and zircon, and an abundance of solar, wind and wave energy.

The region has a population of approximately 58,000 and comprises the regional cities of Port Lincoln and Whyalla, and major townships including Ceduna, Cleve, Elliston, Cowell, Kimba, Cummins, Coffin Bay, Port Neill, Streaky Bay, Tumby Bay and Wudinna along with remote unincorporated areas serviced by the Outback Communities Authority, the Maralinga Tjarutja Lands, and Yalata Aboriginal Community and Lands.

Today the Eyre Peninsula is one of South Australia’s most productive regions generating almost $4 billion in Gross Regional Product annually.  The region is highly export oriented and benefits from established agriculture, commercial fishing and aquaculture industries.  Several other industries continue to strengthen and offer exciting opportunities into the future including mining, renewable energy, hydrogen, space, and tourism.

The region has 11 Local Government Authorities (LGAs):

For further information about our region, go to