Following a public call for nominations, Regional Development Australia Eyre Peninsula (RDAEP) Chair, Bryan Trigg, announced the appointment of three new Board Members.

Joshua Telfer, Pam Schlink and Matthew Waller join existing members Bryan Trigg AFSM, Malcolm Catt, Heather Baldock, Allan Suter OAM, Mayor Travis Barber, Sue Chase AM and Neville Starke on a new look RDAEP Board.

RDAEP is an incorporated, not-for-profit organisation, part of a national network of committees made up of local skills-based leaders that have an active and facilitative role in working with all levels of government, industry, business and community groups to support economic development in the region.

Joshua Telfer is an Australian Rural Leadership alumni with a wealth of knowledge and expertise in contemporary agriculture practises, having worked for the Department for Primary Industries and Regions and as a Sustainable Agriculture Project Officer for Agricultural Innovation and Research Eyre Peninsula (AIR EP).

Pam Schlink is a well-connected member of the community having lived all over the Eyre Peninsula and been involved with various Boards, not-for-profit organisations, sporting clubs and community organisations. She has a strong commitment and passion for living and working on the Eyre Peninsula, with a focus on tourism and community events.

Matthew Waller has qualifications in agriculture, an extensive background in fishing and aquaculture and is a very experienced tourism operator. He brings significant expertise relative to the region’s visitor economy.

“I was really pleased with both the quality and quantity of applicants, with good representation from across the Eyre Peninsula, and within all aspects of the regional economy.” – said RDAEP Chair Bryan Trigg.

“I am thrilled with the calibre of knowledge, experience and expertise that Joshua, Pam and Matthew will bring, to add to that of our existing Committee Members. We have a really diverse and robust set of skills on the RDAEP Board, which I believe has the capability to harness the region’s competitive advantage to seize economic opportunities and attract investment.” – said RDAEP Chair Bryan Trigg.

The injection of these new Members comes at a pivotal time for RDAEP, which is poised to commence a process to review and update its Strategic Regional Plan, having secured funding from all existing Local Government Members and with both the Federal and State Government recommitting to the RDA Framework to June 2025 and 2026 respectively.

The Strategic Regional Plan 2023-2026 will assist regional development stakeholders and the community to identify competitive advantages, manage regional growth pressures, identify opportunities and address economic development and infrastructure needs.

I am really excited for the future, as I believe these appointments strike the right balance moving forward. It allows for an injection of further expertise, fresh perspectives and new ideas, while providing a degree of consistency and continuity.” – said RDAEP CEO Ryan Viney.

RDAEP has been instrumental in advancing significant transformative projects including development of the space industry, energy, water, mining and transport projects as well as supporting regional tourism.

RDAEP also continues to play a critical role in the region’s recovery from the Pandemic, providing important local leadership, communication, intelligence and collaboration for all levels of government and associated authorities.

Mr Trigg also acknowledged all Committee Members as great assets for the region, and the work of staff in continuing to develop and deliver collaborative projects that seek to grow and diversify the regional economy.

Mr Trigg also acknowledged the valued contribution to the RDAEP Board made by former Members Tom Antonio and the late Jack Velthuizen.


Release Date: 25 July 2022

Contact: Bryan Trigg, Chair, RDAEP – 0488 059 501