The Hon David Basham MP, Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development, on behalf of the State Government has announced a new 4 year $3.307million funding commitment for the 7 non-metropolitan Regional Development Australia Boards (RDAs), which form part of the Regional Development Australian Framework.

“The State Government’s commitment to the Regional Development Australia Framework for a further 4-years is a significant boost for regional South Australia” said Regional Development Australia Eyre Peninsula (RDAEP) Chair Bryan Trigg AFSM.

RDAs in South Australia have evolved into key economic development agencies within their respective regions. They are well regarded and sought after as a key source of regional intelligence on matters of economic development, investment and business opportunity.

“The funding commitment reflects the strong partnerships RDAs have formed, in their respective regions, and the important role they play in working collaboratively with State and Federal Governments, local Councils and industry to facilitate economic development, infrastructure, investment and job creation” said RDAEP CEO Ryan Viney.

“The RDAEP Board has identified a pipeline of projects capable of generating in excess of $11 billion of investment and creating over 8,000 jobs right across the region” said RDAEP Chair Bryan Trigg AFSM.

“The State Government’s commitment to RDAEP provides confidence to those businesses looking to invest in the region. It also provides certainty to the work of the Board and staff in seeking to realise this significant investment on behalf of the wider community” said RDAEP CEO Ryan Viney.

RDAEP is the lead agency for driving economic, business and tourism development on the Eyre Peninsula.

The RDAEP mission is to facilitate the achievement of sustainable development outcomes and promote the region as a quality destination to live, work, invest and visit.

RDAEP is funded through a cooperative arrangement with the Australian Government, South Australian Government, and 10 Local Government Authorities (LGAs). The LGAs are: City of Port Lincoln; and the District Councils of Ceduna, Cleve, Elliston, Franklin Harbour, Kimba, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Streaky Bay, Tumby Bay and Wudinna.

While the three levels of government provide the core funding for RDAEP operations, the RDAEP has an enviable record of leveraging funding from a range of government programs and private sector sources to deliver major projects for the benefit of the region.


Release Date: 16 February 2022

Contact: Ryan Viney, CEO, RDAEP – 0407 976 156

Pictured: Minister Basham with RDAEP Economic Development Manager Trevor Smith, CEO Ryan Viney, Chair Bryan Trigg and  Deputy Chair Malcolm Catt (L to R).