From 1 July 2020, the new Landscape South Australia Act 2019 (the Act) will replace the Natural Resources Management Act 2004 as the new framework for managing the State’s land, water, pest animals and plants, and biodiversity. Under the Act, eight new regional landscape boards and Green Adelaide will facilitate the sustainable management of the State’s landscapes; represented by community members committed to partnering with the community, Aboriginal peoples and landholders.

For more information: Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board or the Department of Enviroment and Water

The inaugural Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board members have been appointed, joining Chair Mark Whitfield, in leading a back-to-basics approach on managing natural resources in the region.

The new board members all live locally and provide a diverse range of skills and expertise and include:

  • Brian Foster – Brian is a fourth-generation farmer, on a farm at Coulta that has been in his family since 1871. He has had extensive experience at local, state and national levels, in Local Government, Catchment Water Management, Natural Resource Management and Climate Change areas. He was appointed to the Eyre Peninsula Catchment Management Board in 2000, and Presiding Member of the Eyre Peninsula Natural Resource Management Board in 2004. He was an elected member of the District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula for 14 years, including serving as chairman and deputy. Brian’s commitment to climate change adaptation has included serving on the Premiers Climate Change Council for two terms as well as winning the NCCARF (National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility) National Climate Champion Individual award in June 2013. He has also been involved in Bushfire recovery and jointly chaired the EP Drought taskforce. 
  • Debbie May – Debbie, along with her husband, has been farming in the Elliston district for more than 30 years and are founding members of the Elliston and Districts Landcare Group (1989). The group has delivered extensive Landcare projects including regeneration, revegetation, wind and water erosion control as well as administering large initiatives protecting and conserving the important remnant Sheoak grassy woodlands of the region. Debbie is an elected member of the District Council of Elliston, and has served on a range of community organisations, including being the Chairperson and Manager of the Elliston Community and Visitor Centre.
  • Dr Steven Milner – Steve is a resident of Denial Bay, near Ceduna and is passionate about researching caves, palaeontology, and anthropology of the Nullarbor. He has a PhD and MBA from the University of Adelaide and is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Project Management. Steve lectures on Leadership and Stakeholder Engagement at the University of Adelaide and has supported organisations across several sectors and industries in the development, delivery and capture of knowledge from their major projects and programs. Steve is passionate about the natural environment of the Eyre Peninsula and Far West and has broad networks. 
  • Justine Major – Justine runs a mixed farming enterprise with her husband approximately 20km north-west of Kimba. As a farmer, Justine acknowledges that care and management of the landscape are an essential element of farming businesses. In addition to farming, Justine has extensive experience in the finance and business service sector and is a Certified Practicing Accountant, with qualifications in financial planning and business, as well as holding a Master of Sustainable Agriculture and business.
  • Tony Irvine – Tony currently lives in Port Lincoln. He has extensive experience in the local government sector having been the Chief Executive Officer at the District Councils of Ceduna and Tumby Bay and his most recent role as Executive Officer to the Eyre Peninsula Local Government Association. Tony has had an extensive history working in partnership with various Natural Resources Management organisations on Eyre Peninsula and understands the importance of a strong relationship with local government. Tony is strongly committed to the Eyre Peninsula community as demonstrated by his involvement in many community and sporting organisations including currently being chair of the Eyre Peninsula Football and Netball Council.
  • Meagan Turner – Meagan is an Owner and Director of Turners Oyster farm in Cowell, as well as a Dietitian. Meagan is a member of the South Australian Oyster Growers Association and has strong ties with all oyster growers, government and the seafood industry more generally. She is strongly committed to the management of the coast and marine environment and a genuine interest in her fellow community member’s livelihoods and wellbeing.