The Eyre Peninsula celebrated with the best of South Australia’s tourism industry at the 2023 SA Tourism Awards, taking home 2 gold and 3 silver awards from a record 8 Eyre Peninsula finalists across 31 categories.

The South Australian Tourism Awards program, delivered annually by Tourism Industry Council South Australia (TiCSA), recognises business excellence and outstanding achievement in the State’s tourism industry.  Winners were announced at a Gala Dinner on Friday 3 November at the Adelaide Convention Centre. A large EP contingent cheered on the 8 Eyre Peninsula finalists in their respective categories:

  • Regional Development Australia Eyre Peninsula (RDAEP) – won Gold in Tourism Marketing and Campaigns
  • Port Lincoln Visitor Information Centre – won Gold in Visitor Information Services
  • Experience Coffin Bay – won Silver in Tour and Transport Operators
  • L’Anse French Cafe – won Silver in Tourism Restaurants and Catering Services
  • SALT Festival 2023 – won Silver in Festivals and Events
  • Peter Teakle Wines – Finalist in Tourism Wineries, Distilleries and Breweries
  • Sage at Streaky Bay – Finalist in Self Contained Accommodation
  • Streaky Sounds 2023 Music Festival – Finalists in Festivals and Events

RDAEP accepted the Gold award for Best Tourism and Marketing Campaign for the Eyre Wild Side brand.

The award-winning brand was crafted via extensive community consultation and captures the raw and rugged natural beauty of Eyre Peninsula.  It extends an invitation to travellers to discover South Australia’s Wild Side.

Eyre is for those in search of something deeper from their travels.  It calls you to step gentler; explore slower; connect deeper and leave feeling a whole lot lighter.  Are you ready to discover your wild side?  Eyre. South Australia’s Wild Side.

The need for a review of the Eyre Peninsula regional tourism brand was identified in 2018 via the Eyre Peninsula Tourism Signage Strategy, and in 2022/23, RDAEP embarked on the Regional Brand Project.  RDAEP acts as the Regional Tourism Organisation (RTO) for the Eyre Peninsula, with the Regional Brand Project only made possible thanks to the funding support of all 11 councils, who collectively contributed to this initiative.

“This is great recognition for the project, and a reflection of our region’s ability to work collaboratively to achieve positive outcomes for the entire Eyre Peninsula” said RDAEP Chair Bryan Trigg.

The Regional Brand Project had 3 critical objectives: to strengthen the brand positioning of the Eyre Peninsula, develop a marketing strategy for responsible demand driving activities, and to foster a sense of pride in the regional identity among the community.  These aims are vital for the Eyre Peninsula in achieving its vision for a sustainable visitor economy.  “The Regional Brand Project has strengthened the region’s brand position by uniting the Eyre Peninsula through a sense of pride in a regional identity” said RDAEP CEO Ryan Viney.

The Eyre Peninsula was up against Kangaroo Island’s Unfiltered Campaign; with both projects delivered by Brand agency Fuller, who have had a string of destination marketing success, most recently creating South Australia’s latest campaign; ‘Travel. Our Way’ which was featured throughout the night.

“The community should feel really proud of this achievement.  The Eyre brand represents the identity of the community and the authentic experiences of our tourism industry that have been charming visitors for years” said Annabelle Hender, Tourism Development Manager at RDAEP.

Minister for Tourism, Zoe Bettison said the diversity and excellence of the winners demonstrate what makes South Australia a must-visit tourism destination.  “I congratulate all winners of the 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards, who represent the world-class calibre of our State’s tourism industry” Minister Bettison said.

Regional Development Australia Eyre Peninsula and the Port Lincoln Visitor Information Centre will go on to represent the Eyre Peninsula and South Australia in the National Tourism Awards in Darwin next year.